BuzzJack
Entertainment Discussion

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register | Help )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Archiving/Backing Up Music Online, Suggestions?
Track this topic - Email this topic - Print this topic - Download this topic - Subscribe to this forum
Colm
post Sep 4 2014, 10:27 AM
Post #1
Yes, it's me.
Group: Members
Member No.: 9,885

I've been buying CDs for 20 years now and despite getting rid of hundreds of CD singles a few years ago, still have many many discs.

These take up a lot of room so I was wondering if anyone has attempted to back up their music online somewhere.
I realise it will take a long time to rip the discs but it would be worth it to get rid of many of the lesser artists of whom I dont really need a physical copy of their albums. (Hi Oasis).

I tried an external hard drive but they are vulnerable to physical abuse and end up getting dropped. I lost 14,000 mp3s in 2010 - no huge financial loss as I hadn't paid for any of them.

Any pitfalls, drawbacks to be noted?

Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
ionderella
post Sep 4 2014, 10:39 AM
Post #2
ya ya ya i am lorde
Member No.: 4,397

Storing your shit on hard drives is a better way in my eyes because guess where your music would be stored if you chose the online option... Servers, which are also hardware. Plus, if they work for free they aren't under any obligation to keep your shit intact and can just shut down one day out of the blue.

Are you planning on performing in circus with them hard drives anyway? You're talking like you're going to be juggling them and/or punching and/or dropping them every day. My first hard drive is like 4 years old already and I'm still to accidentally drop it. Unless you are planning to store hard drives near your work station with hammers and power drills, I think it is the best option.